This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Working with Hammock and AgFx

Aug 22, 2011 at 2:14 PM

Sorry if the question I am asking makes nonsense as I am really new to this. :(

I have a project which is already using Hammock for oAuth (version 1.0) authentication. And then I saw your awesome data caching framework AgFx and I really want to be able to use it within my project.

But the problem I am having is, with Hammock I can easily make a request by using

var request = new RestRequest
    {
        Credentials = _credentials,
        Path = "/fav.xml",
        Method = WebMethod.Post
    };

where I store access token, consumer key, etc. in the _credentials object. And it does its magic for me so I don't need to convert them into the long oauth signature string.

But with AgFx, my understanding is, I need to use WebLoadRequest to request for the data, which looks like this

return new WebLoadRequest(loadContext, new Uri(myUri), "POST", "post-data");

where "post-data" should be the oauth signature string. Then basically I need to throw away what Hammock gives to me and rewrite the code to get the signature.

I just wonder if there's a better way of doing this?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Cheers,

Xin

Coordinator
Aug 23, 2011 at 7:05 AM

Hi Xin -

I am not familiar with Hammock so I would need to take a look at that.

One thing to note is that WebLoadRequest derives from the abstract LoadRequest base class.  So you may be able to either derive from WebLoadRequest and fiddle with it or write some kind of a HammockLoadRequest that leverages the RestRequest you reference above.

LoadRequest basically does one thing, which is to return a Stream (asynchronously) from it's Execute method.  How it fetches that stream is up to the LoadRequest - WebLoadRequest is just a common implementation that boils down to HttpWebRequest.

Hope that helps,

Shawn

Aug 24, 2011 at 3:23 AM

Hi Shawn,